top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline

Depictions of Women in Central Asia




A photo collection

Me looking at Kurmanjan Datka's image in Osh, Kyrgyzstan

When I lived in Central Asia, I was fascinated by the depictions of women in public art. Women are often seen as second-class citizens throughout the region. Depictions of men are standard as each country adopted a national hero like Timur in Uzbekistan or Manas in Kyrgyzstan. I previously highlighted some of these women in an earlier piece, Feminist Heroes of Central Asia. I had not traveled to Tajikistan or Kazakhstan when I wrote that piece. Once I traveled there, I gathered more images of women. I hope you enjoy this photo collection. As you scroll, I hope you notice who and how the women are depicted. All photos are by me.



A Kazakh dancer in Kyzylorda, Kazakhstan

Uzbek women at Ichan Qala Hotel in Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Nodira in Kokand, Uzbekistan

A Kazakh woman in Almaty, Kazakhstan

Tomyris in Khujand, Tajikistan

Historic woman in Khujand, Tajikistan

An ideal Uzbek family in Qarshi, Uzbekistan

A young Kyrgyz girl in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

A Kyrgyz woman in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

Tajik dancer in Khujand, Tajikistan

Kurmanjan Datka in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

Mourning Mother in Andijan, Uzbekistan

A panel from Alisher Navoi Metro Station in Tashkent, Uzbekistan

A panel from Alisher Navoi Metro Station from Tashkent, Uzbekistan

A panel from Alisher Navoi Metro Station from Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Mother and Child in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

Young couple in Khujand, Tajkistan

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page